Does Baz look at himself and wonder “wow I’m rubbish”

TwinTurbo

Kennel Legend
Gilded
Reaction score
I have been a personal development coach for 22 years (over 20,000 coaching hours) and I usually can spot what a coach is doing right and wrong very quickly. I am also one of the last to turn on a coach because of my empathy and appreciation of how tough the job is, how invested I am in the process rather than being judged for premature failings.

With Barrett, I was very slow on recognising his failings beyond noticing that the same mistakes were happening every week and there was no discussion about them directly.

The last 3 press conferences and the last game that shocked me how inept they were was when I realised, this poor guy does not have enough ideas and vision to deal with the adversity in front of him. Even moving Averillo to fullback and pissing off Dufty would have made a difference. Naden being moved on should have been obvious too!
Firstly, Coach's post game media conferences are a demand from the NRL to satisfy the media's requirements for content. They are not a forum for airing the dirty laundry, they are simply a cliché filled parody full of platitudes that satisfies the NRL requirements. Unless you're Bennett of course and then you give the farkers nothing. I would never rely on what we see in a post game press conference to draw any conclusions.

What I have trouble understanding is Barrett had almost unlimited resources of very high quality, Gould and Hansen, FMD they don't come any better. A few minutes spent talking to those 2 would yield at least a month's worth of coaching ideas to implement. For example, I would be absolutely stunned if Hansen didn't suggest simplifying the game plan, stripping it back to the basic necessities. Which is after all what Potter has done.

The question for me is did Barrett not ask or did he not take the advice he was given?

Always a Bulldog

Bacon_Muffin

Waterboy
Reaction score