News Bulldogs are not meant to finish last’: Big Willie back at Belmore

H-dog

Kennel Enthusiast
Reaction score
Big willie always been a big mouth piece hopefully he is a positive influence and gets in the ear of the forwards to play tough and hurt the opposition in defence

bulldogsmyte

Kennel Enthusiast
Reaction score
Phil Gould and big willie, i think the 2 biggest reasons why we lost our dna in the first place outside of todd greenberg

gould commentary against parramatta in the semi in 2007 suggested that our style wasn't working anymore, because kristian inu or someone else smiled after he got hit, and willie mason comments about steve folkes not being a coach, i think these 2 situations led to folkes not being renewed beyong 2008 and he was the one who kept the standards high for the 2000's especially in players toughness and conditioning, see west tigers 2010 and 2011 seasons for more information

moore was doing ok especially with recruitment and hasler almost reaped the benefits of it with a title but by that time our club was based on an overrated baseball movie and hasler creating a set of analytics that showed that tolman was the best forward in the game, i liked tolman for his workrate but he was not the best forward in the game
It wasn't Inu as he didn't play for us until midway through 2012. Folkes was a great player and physical trainer but not a great coach. He was gifted with the best roster in the comp between 2003 to 2007 and only won 1 title. Mason's criticism was Folkes didn't teach the players anything other than fitness and the players sorted out the rest themselves and there's a considerable amount of truth to Mason's claim. Folkes even admitted that tactics were not his strength. It speaks for itself that after Folkes was sacked in 2008 no other NRL club approached him for a head coach role. If Wok, Robinson, Bellamy etc had that roster they would have won 3 or 4 comps during that period.

Jarrad El Hickey

Kennel Enthusiast