Questionable Foran deal

Status
Not open for further replies.

M4cca

Kennel Enthusiast
Reaction score
Pretty filthy that the dogs missed out on kieran but I still can't comprehend how the warriors can possibly fit him under their cap when they have a 1, 7, and 9 that'd all be very big money as well as other big names in their squad. I'm not that familiar with salary cap rules but surely his deal couldn't be anywhere near what he's worth and if it is I've lost all understanding of what the salary cap is in place for because I would've thought it was in place so the competition was as even as possible and having one team having a spine full of internationals and the rest doesn't seem to add up. In my opinion if the deal is passed by the nrl its clear that they want nz to win the next comp coz it'll grow the game over there or something like that.

boggie23

Kennel Addict
Reaction score
I'm no expert either. But any time a clubs roster is more then the salary cap they excuse it with "3rd party deals". Broncos are the best at it.

But in saying that I'm sure RTS and Luke would have much more sponsorship opportunities in New Zealand (only competing with their team mates and 5 union teams for sponsorship compared to 9 nsw teams or what ever it is).

Players should have a price set by their value (e.g Lockyer can't be on the books for $250k) that way the books balance.

If their value is 750k but they get 300k in sponsorships good luck to them. They are still $750k on paper.

That way you can't cheat the cap because your rosters value can't be more then 7 million. Even though you might be paying 10 million for them (legally or illegally).

Last edited:

Bulldogs09

Kennel Immortal
Premium Member
SC Draft Champion
Reaction score