What is life like for first grade players?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stoofy

Kennel Legend
Reaction score
This is a little out there but anyway,

For the rest of us in the rat race we work at least 40 hours per week, go home to our families, try to pay all the bills & all the rest of it.

What do first grade players do in their working week?

Do they do something like the following:

Train in the gym - 10 hours?
RL skills training - 20 hours?
Cardio workouts - 10 hours?
Study the team they are playing next - 2 hours?
Do any academic studies?
Charity work?
1 on 1 with the coach?
1 on 1 with adjoining players - if your the half back how much time do you spend with the 5/8th?
Physio, massage?
Media and club work?
Meet their own managers?
Count their money?

My question is do they 40 hours a week like the rest of us?

I assume that some of you where former first graders (or still are) or professional sports people.

I am not a professional sports man I request your opinion and insight.

FaceBreaker

Kennel Addict
Reaction score
This interests me also.

I would love to read a weekly diary of a player.

I remember reading Jarrad Haynes one close to the 2009 grand final, was an interesting read.

Stoofy

Kennel Legend
Reaction score
A story from the weekend regarding Casey Stoner the current Moto GP World Champion:

I found it surprising when Casey Stoner announced his retirement from Moto GP racing at the end of the season.

Here is a guy that went to Europe at age 14 to start his motorcycle career. He is now 26 years of age, the second highest paid Australian sports person and at his peak in his sport and is the current World Champion.

He stated that he was sick of the current rules that constantly change, business arrangements within the sport & has most importantly lost his desire to keep racing. He seems pretty disgruntled as well.