Hypothetical: Resting Players

Status
Not open for further replies.

_G-Dog_

Kennel Legend
Reaction score
Hypothetical Question similar to the situation the Sharks find themselves in today (but points difference will make a difference to the Sharks with a 30points loss or 60point win)..

If you were a coach , its the final round and the result and points differiential for your last game wouldnt effect your position at all nor who you play the following week in the finals:

Would you rest your start players or majority of the team to give them a break, rest up and avoid any chance of injury

Or would you play your full strength team so help keep cohesion and build "momentum" and form etc

Its a scenario that happens nearly every year in the final round and I dont think there is a right or wrong answer , just depends on case by case..

Personally if I was a coach I would be more likely to rest the players and keep them "fresh" for the following week

Raysie

Kennel Addict
Reaction score
Rest for sure. A lot to lose if a key player goes down and nothing to gain with a win.

Typical dog

Kennel Enthusiast
Reaction score
Its a must to finish top 4 as history shows. If sharks rest players and lose by 18 then they have to hope that brisbane dont pump manly to knock them out of the 4.
I can see the stars aligning for brisbane on a sunday afternoon playing a pretty ordinary manly.
The last thing sharks need is for the dogs to be red hot and have a half stength side on the park...

coach

Kennel Legend
Reaction score
Its a must to finish top 4 as history shows. If sharks rest players and lose by 18 then they have to hope that brisbane dont pump manly to knock them out of the 4.
I can see the stars aligning for brisbane on a sunday afternoon playing a pretty ordinary manly.
The last thing sharks need is for the dogs to be red hot and have a half stength side on the park...
It's 60 difference
If we do win by 18, highly unlikely
Brisbane need 43 point win to knock em out