News Bulldogs defend players bye-round Holiday after Phil Gould’s Knights spray

04 Dreaming

Kennel Enthusiast
Reaction score
That Queensland sun sure feels nice, Gus.

Bulldogs players have escaped the Sydney cold – and mid-season blues – during the club’s bye weekend but their exit has raised the hackles of Newcastle officials.

Knights management are still recovering from a withering spray they copped from Bulldogs general manager of football and Channel 9 commentator Phil Gould after Newcastle players travelled to Bali for a break during a club bye earlier this month.

At the time, Gould told 9: “It wouldn’t happen in my day. I couldn’t do it as a coach, I couldn’t do it as a player.”

Instagram photos now show Canterbury star Jake Averillo enjoying the Queensland sun on Hamilton Island with halfback Kyle Flanagan holidaying at Port Douglas.

Some may argue in support of Gould by claiming Queensland offers a safer and healthier destination compared to Bali.

Newcastle knows the far-reaching influence Phil Gould wields in rugby league.

Phil Gould had a bit to say about Newcastle players taking a holiday in the bye week, but Bulldogs stars have gone interstate during their week off. Picture: Damian Shaw.

Phil Gould had a bit to say about Newcastle players taking a holiday in the bye week, but Bulldogs stars have gone interstate during their week off. Picture: Damian Shaw.

And that power – and lack of appetite for public slanging match – will prevent the Knights from publicly calling out what they believe is perceived double standards at Gould’s Bulldogs.

Publicly, Newcastle is refusing to be critical of Bulldogs players using the bye to get away for a brief mid-season holiday. But, privately, they claim Gould is living by two sets of rules.