Economics for a dummy.

KambahOne

Kennel Enthusiast
Reaction score
I'm hoping someone has a better grasp of economics and can explain the confusing headlines I'm seeing at the moment regarding inflation.

There is all this talk about families struggling with the cost of living, inflation and stagnant wages etc with interest rates rising to curb it. But I'm also seeing record levels of company profits and low unemployment and now retailers are saying they expect a huge Xmass spending spree?

If inflation is people spending too much, who are the ones struggling? And vice versa, if people are struggling with the cost of living, low wages etc, where is the inflation coming from?

Anyone?

HD and Ink

Kennel Established
Reaction score
Hey, I'm no professor but I'll have a shot.

I know that Christmas has massive credit card spending. Folk think wtf I'll buy all the pressies and pay it next month or whatever. Credit scares the crap outta me cause there's a heap of folk that just sink in debt. Lots of tradies getting cashie jobs, execs pulling bigger wages. Not the shelf stacker at Coles, the person who can only get casual work and folk like this are struggling.

Company profits maybe go to like big super companies, mum and dad shareholders, company execs and like that. Look at Qantas the mongrel management paid themselves mega but then sacked all these workers. Dogs.

So unemployment, I think you only have to like work 1+ hour a week and then they don't count you. Then there's students, they don't get counted but might be doing cashies like tutoring, grass cutting or whatever.

So man for me I reckon the ones struggling (guessing) are on less that maybe $60 or $70k and lower. Most folk in OZ are the strugglers, finding extra couch pennies to buy stuff.