News Brain cancer diagnosis forces rising Cronulla Sharks forward Fine Kula to retire

Jackson_1994

Kennel Enthusiast
Reaction score
The Cronulla Sharks have announced that rising star Fine Kula has been diagnosed with brain cancer and will retire immediately.

The 21-year-old forward will now begin intensive treatment at Liverpool hospital.

Kula joined the Sharks from his native New Zealand over five years ago.
He progressed through the junior grades and was added to the NRL club’s top-30 squad for the upcoming 2020 season
He took to Instagram to announce the news, writing: “Been deleting this and redoing it but really don’t know how to say it.

“But I started playing the game of rugby league at 12 years old and I have loved the game ever since.
“It gave me the opportunity to up lift my family to Australia, been such a pleasure playing for the Sharks, made friends that I know will be friends for a long time, but due to medical reasons for now gonna have to hang up the boot
Hurts thinking about it, footy has been a lifestyle for me past seven years.

“But being around family and getting healthy is next task for me.

“Thanks everyone who has messaged me.’
In a statement the Sharks said: “The Sharks are offering their full support to Kula and his family at this difficult time, with details being worked through, in consultation with the Men of League Foundation, regarding fundraising activities aimed at assisting with the ongoing costs associated with his treatment.
The Cronulla Club, NRL coaching staff and the playing group are rallying around Kula and his family, with Sharks welfare staff also providing support and assistance.”

Mitch Connor

Super Moderator
Staff member
Premium Member
SC Top Scorer
Reaction score
Horrible. Kid on the verge of living his dream and it's all taken away from him.

Motorhead

Kennel Enthusiast
Premium Member
2 x Tipping Champ
Reaction score